We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

Cannes 2012. Awards

The Palme d'Or goes to Michael Haneke's _Amour_. Also, a comprehensive list of all the award winners.

The awards have been announced at The 65th Cannes Film Festival...

In Competition

Feature Films

Palme d'Or – Amour, directed by Michael Haneke

Grand Prix – Reality, directed by Matteo Garrone

Best Director – Carlos Reygadas, Post Tenebras Lux

Best Screenplay – Cristian Mingiu, Beyond the Hills

Best Actress – Cristina Flutur & Cosmina Stratan, Beyond the Hills

Best Actor – Mads Mikkelsen, The Hunt

Jury Prize – The Angels' Share, directed by Ken Loach

Short Films

Palme d'Or (Short Film) – Silent, directed by L.Razan Yesilbas

Un Certain Regard

Prize of Un Certain Regard – After Lucía, directed by Michael Franco

Special Jury Prize – The Big Night, directed by Benoît Delépine & Gustave de Kervern

Special Distinction – Children of Sarajevo, directed by Aida Begić

Best Actress – Émilie Dequenne, Loving Without Reason & Suzanne Clément, Laurence Anyways

 Camera d'Or

Best First Film – Beasts of the Southern Wild, directed by Benh Zeitlin


1st Prize – The Road To, directed by Taisia Igumentseva

2nd Prize – Abigail, directed by Matthew James Reilly

3rd Prize – The Hosts, directed by Miguel Angel Moulet

Visit the official website for details on all of the Cannes juries

Semaine de la Critique

Feature Films

Nespresso Grand Prize – Aquí y allá, directed by Antonio Mendez Esparza

France 4 Visionary Award – Sofia's Last Ambulance, directed by Ilian Metev

Prix SACD – God's Neighbors, directed by Meni Yaesh

ACID/CCAS Distribution Support – The Wild Ones, directed by Alejandro Fadel

Short Films

Canal+ Award – Circle Line, directed by Shin Suwon

Discovery Award – A Sunday Morning, directed by Damien Manivel

Discovery Award, Special Mention – Doppelgänger, directed by Juliana Rojas

Visit the official website for supplemental information, including details on the juries

Directors' Fortnight

Art Cinema Award No, directed by Pablo Larraín

Label Europa Cinemasthe Europa CinemasEl taaib, directed by Merzak Allouache

Prix SACD 2012 – Camille Rewinds, directed by Noémie Lvovsky

Visit Indiewire for more details on the Directors' Fortnight prizes


In Competition FIPRESCI Prize – In the Fog, directed by Sergei Loznitsa

Un Certain Regard FIPRESCI Prize – Beasts of the Southern Wild, directed by Benh Zeitlin

Directors' Fortnight Prize – Hold Back, directed by Rachid Djaidani

Prize of the Ecumenical Jury

The Hunt, directed by Thomas Vinterberg


Please sign up to add a new comment.


Notebook is a daily, international film publication. Our mission is to guide film lovers searching, lost or adrift in an overwhelming sea of content. We offer text, images, sounds and video as critical maps, passways and illuminations to the worlds of contemporary and classic film. Notebook is a MUBI publication.


If you're interested in contributing to Notebook, please see our pitching guidelines. For all other inquiries, contact the editorial team.